Microsoft has now confirmed that new warnings alarming Windows users that “Microsoft Defender Antivirus is turned off” are incorrect. It’s a mistake. “These notifications can appear when Windows starts and intermittently afterward. They persist even if notification settings are turned off,” the company said in a statement, adding “we are working to release a resolution.”

The erroneous notifications have been triggered by the latest Windows antivirus updates, but rest assured, Microsoft says, “the antivirus is functioning correctly and all settings show it as active.” It’s a widespread issue that “can be observed in any version of Windows or Windows Server with Microsoft Defender Antivirus running with the latest Defender updates.”

Per Windows Latest, “in our tests, we found that the Windows Security app, which manages Microsoft Defender Antivirus, randomly throws up ‘Turn on virus protection’ pop-ups when you boot Windows and even when casually using it. The alert says that virus protection is turned off, and you need to tap it to turn on Microsoft Defender Antivirus.”

But that won’t stop users fretting when they see the warnings, especially given the backdrop of accelerating, AI-fueled attacks and the frequent Windows zero-day security threats.

“It’s only natural to be a little bit worried,” XDA-Developers says, “if you’ve been getting spammed by notifications claiming ‘Microsoft Defender Antivirus is turned off’ when everything seems okay.” But now that “Microsoft has broken the silence about this weird issue,” you can expect a fix. Meantime, “if you’ve double-checked that it’s still on, you have nothing to worry about.”

And that double-check is obviously something you should do — just in case. As Windows Latest points out, “do not just dismiss the alert, assuming it to be a false alarm. First, verify that Microsoft Defender is actually running and real-time protection is enabled.”

If you have not yet seen this alarming notification on your PC, there’s every chance you will soon. Open Windows Security to check there are no real alerts. Assuming not, you can ignore the popups.

Share.
Exit mobile version